Medieval Town of Ourem
When you cross the wall, you walk through the narrow streets and discover an architectural heritage that combines the Gothic and Pombaline styles. The rich typology of the public buildings reflects the importance of this town in medieval times, which reached its peak in the 15th century with D. Afonso – 4th Count of Ourém, who restructured and repopulated the town.
Better known as Porta da Vila (Town Gate) to the north, it is located next to the Collegiate Church and the Gothic fountain. This arched doorway breaks through the wall and leads us into the town center, where we wander through a world of narrow cobbled streets and white houses.
In 1445, D. Afonso, 4th Count of Ourém, was granted permission to transform the Church of St. Maria de Ourém into a Collegiate Church. Thus, in 1453, the Collegiate Church of Santa Maria das Misericórdias was built on the site of the parish church, bringing together the four parish churches of Ourém.
Tomb of D Afonso, 4th Count of Ourém
In the Mother Church you can visit the Crypt of D. Afonso, Count of Ourém and Marquis of Valença, also known as the Chapel of the Marquis, built in the 15th century. In the center is the tomb of D. Afonso, who died in 1460, erected in Ançã stone, with jacente.
The 15th century Gothic stonework fountain, strategically placed in front of the town gates, was built at the behest of the 4th Count of Ourém. It has a quadrangular plan and is adorned with two ogival arches. The structure is topped on the front by a fountain, on which the arms of King Afonso are carved.
Located in the landscaped square next to the old town hall, this pillory is a unique work in the municipality of Ourém, representative of the town’s municipal forums. It is a pine cone pillory, with a shaft marked at half height by three moldings, decorated with plant motifs, and is an example of the Baroque style in Portugal.
Medieval Village Gallery
The old town hall was built in the 15th century. It housed the Town Hall until 1841, when the county seat was transferred to Vila Nova de Ourém. Today, the first floor houses the Municipal Gallery (with arts and crafts exhibitions) and the first floor is home to the Nossa Senhora das Misericórdias Parish Council.
Ucharia do Conde
Ucharia do Conde is a unique space, consisting of a medieval tavern, medieval snacks and dinners, and entertainment, located in the old prison building in the heart of the historic center.
Terreiro de Santiago
The Terreiro de Santiago is the highest point in the medieval town, where there was once a church with the same name. The Terreiro de Santiago is a wide, open space with a statue of D. Nuno Álvares Pereira (3rd Count of Ourém).
Monumento Nacional, o Castelo de Ourém foi conquistado aos Mouros em 1136. O conjunto patrimonial dos séc. XII e XV apresenta características ímpares de arquitetura militar românica/residencial gótica e mudéjar. Está indubitavelmente ligado à lenda da Moura Fátima/Oureana, a D. Afonso IV Conde de Ourém e à Fundação Casa de Bragança.
Paço do Conde e Torreões
This monument was erected by the 4th Count of Ourém to house his official residence. Considered a unique model in the country, this national monument is an excellent demonstration of military power, economic power and symbolic power at the time. This complex consists of a central tower, used for residential purposes, and two defensive turrets, located further south.
Church of Our Lady of Conception
Next to the Medieval Santarém Gate is the Church of Nossa Senhora da Conceição and the old Pharmacy, attached to the wall. This building was founded by Canon António Henriques in 1642 and was then called the hermitage of the Holy Spirit. The main façade is lined with 17th century tiles.
Medieval Santarém Gate
The Porta de Santarém, with the town’s coat of arms, given by D. Teresa, marks the entrance to the once more residential area. This is where one of the four primitive hermitages and churches in the center was located, the Ermida do Espírito Santo, where the Chapel of Nossa Senhora da Conceição now stands.
Ourém Municipal Museum
In the central exhibition area of the Ourém Municipal Museum, you can learn about the connection between the administrator Artur Oliveira Santos and his home and the three seers of Fátima, Jacinta, Francisco and Lúcia, who stayed there between August 13 and 15, 1917. Discover the main realities that characterize the municipality, through exhibitions on site and in museum units.
Museum of Olive Oil
The Fátima Olive Growers’ Cooperative was set up in 1951. At the time, the mill started out with three presses and a truncated galga mill. The Olive Oil Museum, set up at the cooperative, tells the story of olive oil production, presenting the ancestral equipment that was used in the past. The museum also organizes olive oil tastings and has a store selling local products such as honey, cheese and wine, as well as olive oil.
1 – Medieval Town of Ourem
2 -Village Gate
3 – Mother Church
4 – Tomb of D Afonso, 4th Count of Ourém
5 – Gothic Fountain
6 – Pillory
7 – Medieval Village Gallery
8 – Ucharia do Conde
9 – Terreiro de Santiago
10 – Medieval Castle
11 – Paço do Conde e Torreões
12 – Church of Our Lady of Conception
13 – Medieval Santarém Gate
14 – Ourém Municipal Museum
15 – Museum of Olive Oil